Programs

All programs held at the museum unless otherwise indicated.

 

MEMBERS’ FIRST LOOK / EXHIBITION PREVIEW 
Thursday, February 1, 2–3:30 PM
FREE | Space limited | Reservations required | Questions: SCMAmembers@smith.edu or 413.585.2777

 

MEMBERS’ FIRST LOOK / EXHIBITION PREVIEW 
Friday, February 2, 9–10:30 AM
FREE | Space limited | Reservations required | Questions: SCMAmembers@smith.edu or 413.585.2777

 

FREE FEBRUARY 9 SECOND FRIDAY
Friday, February 9, 4–8 PM | Free for all ages

 

NIGHT AT YOUR MUSEUM 
Friday, February 24, 7–10 PM | Free Smith College student event

 

PUBLIC LECTURE BY PROFESSOR BERT WINTHER-TAMAKI
Bodies in Earth: Postwar Japanese Ceramics, Photography, and Installation Art
Tuesday, February 27, 5 PM
Graham Auditorium, Hillyer Hall

 

PUBLIC PERFORMANCE BY ARTIST MINA CHEON
Friday, March 2, 4:30 PM
Space limited

 

SYMPOSIUM: 体 MODERN IMAGES OF THE BODY FROM EAST ASIA 
Saturday, March 3, 10–3:30 PM
Graham Auditorium, Hillyer Hall

 

15th ANNUAL MILLER LECTURE IN ART & ART HISTORY with Artist MINA CHEON
Saturday, March 3, 4 PM
Weinstein Auditorium, Wright Hall

 

ARTIST TALK FOR TEACHERS
Sunday, March 4, 1:00 PM

 

STUDENT PROGRAM: MEET THE ARTIST MINA CHEON 
Sunday, March 4, 2:30 PM

 

COMMUNITY DAY 
Saturday, April 7, 11:30–3:30 PM

 

MUSEUMS TODAY CONVERSATION: CURATING GLOBAL (AND) CONTEMPORARY ART 
Thursday, April 12, 5 PM

 

COMMENCEMENT & REUNION GALLERY TALK 
Friday, May 18, 2–3 PM

 

JULY 13 FREE SECOND FRIDAY 
Friday, July 13, 4–8 PM

 

SUMMER TEACHER INSTITUTE - ARTS OF ASIA 
July 24–July 26, 9 AM–3 PM

 

FAMILY PROGRAM: ART BABES 
Thursday, August 2, 10:15–11 AM
Saturday, August 4, 10:15–11 AM

 

ACADEMIC CLASS VISITS
College/University faculty interested in bringing classes to the museum for a facilitated or self-guided visit should contact Charlene Shang Miller, Associate Educator for Academic Programs (csmiller@smith.edu) for planning and scheduling options.

 

K-12 SCHOOL and ADULT GROUP VISITS
To learn about scheduling guided and self-guided visits to this exhibition as well as SCMA’s permanent collection galleries, go to smith.edu/artmuseum/Education/School-Adult-Group-Visits